Posted by: admin | February 8, 2008

The Beginning


Well its taken us 18 months to get here and we are finally here. We got the courage and time to get on the web. What a better way to start then to share your experiences, and mistakes with others and hopefully others can learn from our mistakes and enrich their journey.

I arrived to Amman, Jordan on the 16th of August. My wife joined me two months later. Before I came to Jordan, I was advised by everyone not to go. They said ‘Are you crazy? why do you want to go to the middle of a war zone?’ ‘Don’t they still ride camels over there?’ ‘So you’re gona be living in a tent then? Isn’t it how they live?’

Anyhow I totally ignored their advise, as they obviously did not seem to be too versed in the reality of the Middle East. I booked a ticket and arrived to Amman, Queen Alia International Airport in the middle of the night and was picked up by my schools Administrative Officer and the Head of Secondary. It was then what it seemed to be a very long journey to my new home, where I would lay my head and call it home for the next two years.

They showed me around my new home and left. I was left alone in a new house, new city, new country and as I lay my head to sleep I wondered about what I had left behind and thought about all the possibilities that lay ahead of me.

The rest as we say ‘is history’. 🙂

Responses

  1. Well, welcome to the region.
    It is definitely a strange feeling to just pack up, leave, and settle in a totally different country. I guess what you have seen now is that parts of Amman are not as different from Western cities, while other parts are seemingly worlds apart.

    So, what brought you to this part of the world ?

  2. Thank you Za3tar and what a wonderful region it is:-) I will have to just pack up and go to another part of the world which I am not used to very soon. I look fwd to the new challenges.
    I live in Western Amman and your right, its not much difference from what I am used to. As a matter of fact I much prefer it here:-)
    Career ladder brought me to this part of the world:-) I was offered a position I could not refuse. I never thought I would come to Amman, Jordan but am glad I did.:-)

  3. so do u actually live in a tent and ride on a camel 😛


Leave a Reply

Categories

