Posted by: admin | February 19, 2008

What? Snowing again…


Some local friends of mine were insisting that it would snow today (19.02.08). I on the other hand kept on insisting that it will not snow; ‘it says so on my Firefox status bar’. I had recently added the recommended Add-on by Firefox called ‘Forecastfox’.

I don’t know how the news spreads in Amman but it spreads like ‘wild fire’. Almost all of my local Jordanian friends (or is it Jordanian Palestinian? I am not even sure which is the politically correct terminology to use, as I get corrected so many times as to who is original Jordanian and who is Jordanian Palestinian) were convinced that it would snow.

What happened the next day??? I wake up Tuesday morning and it was snowing and extremely foggy. Below are some of the pictures I took from my car after I had dropped my wife of to the university, where she is studying Arabic.

Next time I am going to phone my Jordanian friends for an update on local weather 🙂

wasapninjordan

BTW can anyone explain what is the story behind people getting worked up about being called ‘Jordanian’ and ‘Jordanian Palestinian’?

Responses

  1. Hi .. pals Jordanian …. or Jordanian Jordanianb, i can never write this one down here as it requires alot of effort to do that,,, maybe we can meet and give you a brief about the whole thing … u know where to find me …. Cheers

  2. Ahhh …don’t stir up the Jordanian-Jordanian and Jordanian-Palestinian saga ..
    I prefer the first part of it.. Jordanian (Period)

  3. Sorry for the long delay Bashar. My internet has been down for over a week now.
    But am back now :-).
    I’d love to meet up and get to know more about this issue. It really fascinates me how people which seem to have a common back ground can have such different views on reality, history and identity.

  4. Again Qwaider sorry for the long delay.
    I come from London, UK, where by the people who live in the North of England call us Southern Fairies and people who live in the South call the people in the North of England, Northern Monkeys. There has always been a history between people who live in different parts of the country.
    But what I witness here in Jordan is completely different and honestly I am trying to understand the truth behind it.

  5. Well, it is not really like the south north divide in the UK,where a scotsman, he’d say he is Scottish not English although at the end of the day they are all British. The thing is, because of the crisis, the Palastinians moved to Jordan as well as to other countries. They will always say that they are this country nationality and palastinian or vice versa. They believe in their own identity which is a great thing. While Jordanians are just Jordanian in their own homeland Jordan, and feel just as proud to be. Well that’s is what I think, and I might be wrong. At the end of the day, Home is where the family is and I mean the whole family not just partners and kids!:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

