Posted by: admin | May 17, 2008

Qahwa Wasat


(photo by wasapninjordan)

I love coffee and everything related to coffee. Some say I am a teacher so I was born with this inherent love for coffee. I beg to differ. I grew up in the UK the tea sipping nation. I drank nothing but Earl Grey tea J I used to shun the coffee addicts as out casts; ‘what you don’t drink tea?’

All this changed when I came to Jordan. I discovered the Argeela (Sheesha, Nargeela, Hubbly Bubbly, Water pipe or whatever you wish to call it) and one cannot enjoy a good Argeela without good coffee.

I only recently discovered that there is a difference between Turkish and Arabic Coffee. What I have been drinking in the coffee shops is Turkish coffee and what I drank on Eid Celebrations with my neighbours is the Arabic Coffee.

So I began to investigate further. Apparently Turkish coffee was known simply as kahve (‘coffee’ < Arabic قهوة, qahwa) until instant coffee was brought in during the 1980s. Western forms are also known and are often called “Nescafé” through brand generalisation. (It took me while to get used to thisJ)

So how do you make Turkish Coffee? It’s very simple.

Equipment:

The necessary equipment to prepare Turkish coffee consists of a narrow-topped small boiling pot called an ibrik, (bríki), a teaspoon and a heating apparatus.

Ingredients:

Finely ground coffee, (I use the Brazilian Coffee House brand from Carrefour, in City Mall), water and (if desired) sugar.

It is served in cups similar in size to Italian espresso. Turkish coffee is drunk slowly and is usually served with a glass of cold water to freshen the mouth to give a better taste before sipping. As I understand ideally you should sip some water after every sip of the coffee.

So how do you make it?

1. There are different sizes of ibrik (Briki) and depending on the size add the desired amount of water.

2. Add Sugar according to your taste.

3. Heat water with the sugar till boiling point.

4. Remove Ibrik (Briki) from the stove and add the finally grounded coffee into the Irbik (Briki) and stir well.

5. Place the Ibrik (Briki) back on to the stove and keep stirring until the coffee stops rising.

6. Pour slowly into the small cup(s).

7. Relax and enjoy the coffee.

I am a newbie to all this so anyone out there has tips or advice on how to make the Turkish Coffee better or even offer advice on how to make the Arabic coffee with Cardamom then please don’t hold back.

You might find the following link interesting.

http://www.turkish-coffee.org

wasapninjordan

Responses

  1. Interesting post!!
    after your permission, i will have to copy your recipe for coffee making and post it on my cooking blog!! 🙂
    although i make turkish coffee every single day but i never thought of making a video of making it, as i do with everything i make in the kitchen! watch out for it, coming to my blog soon!!!
    have a great evening.

  2. Summer, please go ahead. I would love to see the finished video 🙂
    I was thinking of making a picture step by step guide but couldn’t find the time.
    I want to learn how to make the Arabic coffee now 🙂

  3. Thanks for this post.I’ll have to try this,I might like it.

  4. Yeah try it and let me know how it goes 🙂
    I am hooked on the stuff. I even make the Turkish coffee in my school during my break times 🙂

  5. Yep that’s the right way of making it.

    As for me, I like it with a ‘face’! You get a face for the coffee when you have a foam-like layer on top of the coffee. It’s easy to make: after you put the coffee back on the stove, stir a little bit until you have the foam-like thing, pour it in the cup and then get the ibrik back on the stove. After you’re done with the boiling, pour the coffee in the cup and enjoy how it looks. 😀

    By the way, I prefer to buy the coffee from a place called Bon Al-Ameed in Wasfi Al-Tal St. It’s the best. 😀

  6. Jasim..thank you and I will try the coffee from Bon Al-Ameed and let you know how i found it 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

