Posted by: admin | May 23, 2008

Ministry of Interior


I had some paper work to do at the Ministry of Interior, related to my move to Egypt so I rang the Ministry of Interior and enquired about opening times. I was advised that the opening times are from 8am to 6pm.

I arrived at the Ministry of Interior which is right behind Jordan Stock Exchange building at 14:45. There was no one at the desk. I went to another enquiry desk and here is how my conversation went.

Wasapninjordan: Excuse me, I am sorry I do not speak Arabic but I need some help.

Ministry of Interior: ‘We are closed’

Wasapninjordan: ‘What time do you close?’

Ministry of Interior: ‘We close at 3pm’ he says with a smile

Wasapninjordan: ‘But it is 2:45pm’

Ministry of Interior: He laughed and said ‘this is Jordan’

Wasapninjordan: ‘But what time do you close?’

Ministry of Interior: ‘We close at 3pm he says with a gentle smile’

Wasapninjordan: I said with a smile, ‘but it is 2:45pm’

Ministry of Interior: ‘I am sorry we are closed’

Wasapninjordan: ‘What time do you close?’

Ministry of Interior: ‘We close at 3pm’

Wasapninjordan: ‘But it is 2:45pm’

Ministry of Interior: ‘We are closed. Come tomorrow’

Wasapninjordan: ‘What time can I come tomorrow?’

Ministry of Interior: ‘You can come between 8am and 3pm’

Wasapninjordan: ‘But I am here before 3pm and no one is here’

Ministry of Interior: ‘I am sorry we are closed, everyone has gone home’

It was obvious the poor guy was covering for his friends who had gone home early that day J we both smiled knowing the truth and said MaSalama’

wasapninjordan

Responses

  1. lol, poor guy. I guess they never told about this in the “Welcome to Jordan” brochure.

  2. wasapinjordan; it says (Driving Under Influence… kills!)

  3. Oh it does dear!


Leave a Reply

Categories

