Posted by: admin | May 24, 2008

“Everyone does it. Why shouldn’t I?”


Man Sleeps in his House

Man sleeps on a donkey cart which is his home and his livelihood in Pakistan.

(photo by wasapninjordan)

I am a writer and a moderator for expatfocus.com. The aim of expatfocus.com is ‘to make life easier for anyone moving or living abroad by being the most comprehensive information and support resource for expatriates on the Web today.’

I read an interesting article on the blog of expatfocus.com and I had to write a piece on it after reading the blog. The blog talks about an article published in the British newspaper ‘the telegraph’ last month. The author of the blog then raises some interesting points about integrity and about ‘doing the right thing.’

The original article is talking about the mentality of local Italians and the mentality of cheating and “Everyone does it. Why shouldn’t I?” The article discusses how a doctor encourages a patient to cheat the system to raise extra money for a holiday and another example where the ‘head of the traffic police in Rome was found to have parked illegally using an out-of-date disabled parking sticker.’

Here are my thoughts on this.

I have been very fortunate to travel to Jordan, Syria, Lebanon, Turkey, Egypt and Pakistan in the recent past. I experienced this “Everyone does it. Why shouldn’t I?” attitude of looking after number one. I was conned by an elderly taxi driver of almost triple of the agreed price and in another occasion I haggled my price of a good to 70% less then the starting price and still wondered if I was bring conned.

Deception, conning, and lying exists throughout the world and it is wrong where ever it is carried out. In my opinion there are two types of deception; one is out of necessity and I don’t mean the necessity due to addiction but necessity due to survival. Deceiving people or conning tourists due to the economic situation of the particular country; in those parts of the world people deceive because they have to, because without it they will not be able to put food on the table that feeds the family. For example the average salary for a policeman in Pakistan has risen from 3000 rupees per month (£22pm) to 9000 rupees per month (£66pm) which is still about 15000 rupees less then what is required to sustain an agreeable living without being categorised as poor. Pakistan was labelled as one of the most corrupt countries in the world. In my opinion this type of deception is somewhat understandable although I would never do it and it is wrong out of principle.

The second type of deception, lying and conning is out of want; the greed of human beings pushing them to want more and more. The want to own a second home, or to buy a better car or simply to own more then your neighbour. It is this type of deception that I cannot understand? Where a perfectly economically stable person deceives another without need but is motivated by want.

Wrong is wrong and we should not accept any wrong and we should always try to do the right thing but at the same time let us try to understand that sometimes, although the action may appear to be the same, its motives are different. Hence I think there is a difference between the two types of deceptions although the action is the same and they are both WRONG.

wasapninjordan

Responses

  1. Well said. If I know I am being conned because the seller is in need, I’ll offer him my un-conned price, then tell him/her I’ll give them the extra difference just because i want to out of good will. Then, I have a choice in the matter and we both have a way out honorably.

  2. Greatly said, I agree with you.
    But the first type would be more understandable if there are no other alternatives, I guess.

  3. funny pic but intressting remark 😉

  4. Thank you for this interesting article 🙂

    • Thanks for reading and your feedback. Visit again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

