Posted by: admin | May 27, 2008

Pavements and Trees in Amman


(photo by wasapninjordan)

Why do Jordanians plant which I believe are olive trees on the pavement in front of their homes? My neighbours on my street have them and almost every inner street I know have them. Hence walking on the pavement becomes extremely difficult. People are actually forced to walk on the road, which in the UK is called ‘jaywalking’. Incidentally ‘jaywalking’ on the road without appropriate reason is a criminal offence in the UK.

When I first came to Jordan, walking on the road rather than a designated pavement was so weird and I would find I would feel at odds walking on the road while the cars whiz by you.

Just a thought from my curious mind 🙂

wasapninjordan

Responses

  1. I guess that pavements are only for trees, not for people to walk onto here in Jordan. Streets where people walk and drive… Look, I don’t really have a bright answer for this one, so let’s take it for granted. 😀

  2. notice also that a lot people park on the sidewalk, so I think it is the other way around!

  3. How many times we have all blogged about this!! The Municipality have been trying to take out all olive trees (which a few years ago people were encouraged to plant) as they cause a lot of allergies. These trees that block pavements are hazardous to life and limb and I hope the Municipality keeps on getting owners to plant the correct trees – ones with trunks instead of the low spreading trees. T

  4. ‘T’ Apologies for re-writing about issues which have been blogged about before 🙂
    I do think it is serious problem as it can become very dangerous in some cases.
    ‘mab3oos’ I agree with the parking issue. its crazy how some people park their cars.
    Am sure we can come up with something new to present to The Municipality.

  5. do something about it? they will tell you “بلّط البحر

  6. I have noticed the same problem and also noticed that running is almost impossible on the streets of Jordan. Where am I going to practice for Dead Sea Marathon 2009?

  7. This is Something I have noticed and my mother complains a lot about. I have recently come to Amman from the UK..

    We need decent pavements to Walk on !!!

    Walking in the road is something we have to do everyday, and it can be quite dangerous.

    I am suprised the people who make the pavements have so little common sense.

  8. (continuing from joonas answer) yea i used to go for walks all the time in norway but here its impossible!

  9. The UK is so far behind in introducing cycle lanes on the roads hence when you see the cycle lanes they are so small and very dangerous for cyclists. London is crowded and there is very little that can be done to improve the city in my opinion but Amman is still a developing city which i think has great potential. Issues such as pavements and cycle lanes can be thought about now rather than later.


Leave a Reply

Categories

