Posted by: admin | June 5, 2008

Lawrence of Arabia


(photo by wasapninjordan)

I recently managed to watch the film ‘Lawrence of Arabia’ which I have wanted to see for ages. However, I was not sure how accurate the movie was to true life. I saw Lawrence being portrayed as the saviour of Arabs and almost being revered ‘god-like’ figure by the Arabs in the film. I asked a few friends at work and behold they all challenged the accuracy of the film.

Below are quotes from ‘wikiquote’ about Lawrence from others that knew him:

“There is no other man I know who could have achieved what Lawrence did. As for taking undue credit for himself, my own personal experience with Lawrence is that he was utterly unconcerned whether any kudos was awarded him or not.(Edmund Allenby, commander of the Egyptian Expeditionary Force to Lowell Thomas.)

“I deem him one of the greatest beings alive in our time… We shall never see his like again. His name will live in history. It will live in the annals of war… It will live in the legends of Arabia.” (Winston Churchill)

I also recently visited Wadi Rum where tourist attractions such ‘this is where Lawrence slept’ and ‘this is where Lawrence drank water from’ were sold to me as sites for pilgrimage.

I would love hear from other peoples views on T.E. Lawrence’s legacy. What do you think?

wasapninjordan

Responses

  1. Did you know that Lawrence of Arabia was a homosexual? No, seriously, he was…

  2. I had read something about that in his biography. However, I would be interested in how the Arabs view Lawrence now?

  3. Lawrence did not commit sodomy or cherish filthy fantasies. He was attracted to men but hated sex -that’s not “homosexuality”, that’s just “±orientation” (actually he was like me – I’m a girl though, lol!;)
    He’s a totally lovable guy!

  4. Lawrence discusses what credit is due him in his own book. Depending on the edition, this appears on about the first or second page:

    “Then there is the question of my British colleagues. This isolated picture throwing the main light upon myself is unfair to them…

    My proper share was a minor one, but because of a fluent pen, a free speech and a certain adroitness of brain, I took it upon myself, as I describe it, a mock primacy. By the accidental judgment of a publicist who visited us in the field this mock primacy was published abroad as truth. In reality I held a subordinate official pace. I never held any office with the Arabs, was never in charge of the British mission with them. I did my best. Wilson, Joyce, Newcombe… Young, Maynard, Ross… Wade, Dowsett, Pascoe and the others also did their best. It would be impertinence in me to praise them… We did what we set out to do, and have the satisfaction of that knowledge. The others have liberty some day to put on record their story, one parallel to mine but not mentioning more of me than I of them, for each of us did his own job by himself and as he pleased, hardly seeing his friends.

    In these pages is not the history of the Arab movement, but just of what happened to me in it.”

  5. […] Lawrence of Arabia « wasapnin jordan?Jun 5, 2008 … Wade, Dowsett, Pascoe and the others also did their best. It would be impertinence in me to praise them… We did what we set out to do, and … […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

