Posted by: admin | June 9, 2008

British Council Staff – Amman


British Council Magazine

(photo by wasapninjordan)

 

What is it about the perfectly warm and hospitable people, as they are known throughout the land of Jordan, but when you interact with some of them in a small building called the British Council, Amman that they turn rude and arrogant? I have had numerous interactions with the staff members working for the British Council over the year or so and after every contact with them I have tried to give them the benefit of the doubt that maybe ‘they have had a bad day’ or ‘it’s not their fault.’ Every time I interact with them my perception about the staff working at the British Council becomes increasingly negative.

I have had staff members sitting behind the service desks without smiles and being plain rude, to the extent of telling me to be quiet for asking a question because the member of staff was not ready to answer. I have dealt with staff who could not be bothered to give me the correct information because god knows why? And by the way, the members of staff do not make mistakes – it never happens, so don’t even try to correct them. To be honest the list goes on and I am not the only one who feels the same way. Many of my colleagues agree with me.

It is a shame to see people behave in such an appalling manner. I wonder if it is because of the place they work in.

wasapninjordan

Responses

  1. remember who made Jordan and be grateful. LONG LIVE THE BRITISH EMPIRE.

  2. I think you’ve missed the point of the article 🙂

  3. Who cares who made the Kingdom? It doesn’t give them the right to be rude, especially in a country where courteousness and hospitality are highly prized values.

  4. lol =) ‘they’re’ british, its normal but in a country where everyones so warm and hospitable, its hard to beleive =P

  5. Dear Sir
    Iwould like to know how i can study the exams for language for canadian immigration direct on the internet
    Regards
    Saleh Sayyed

    • If you allow some time to research and i shall get back to you soon.:-)

  6. Dear Sir,

    I am very intrested in your complaint, i am a staff member of the British council, and ofcourse there are some staff who are not “perfect”
    most of us are not English by the way, nevertheless, i will hold you accountable for one thing: speak out, things will never get better if people dont articulate to the right person(s)
    i assure you that many of us are very friendly, and cooperative and would love to help you:) see i am smiling

    • Apologies for the delay. Hana I know most of the staff that I interacted with were local staff who could speak Arabic and English. I am just telling you how my experience went and of my colleagues and friends. With regards to complaining: Well i agree with you in one way that if no one complains then things will not improve. On the other hand, people just do not want to make an issue out of it and in many cases just do not want to get the person in trouble. But people should still be entitled to get annoyed at the service they receive.


Leave a Reply

Categories

