Posted by: admin | June 23, 2009

Jordanian currency is the Dinar


When ever I visit to a new place, whether it’s for a holiday or work, it takes me a while to get used to the currency. I thought it might be helpful for some to know the currency in Jordan.  The Jordanian currency is the Dinar, JD or JOD. It is subdivided into 1000 fils, or 100 qirsh or piasters. It appears in paper notes of 20, 10, 5, 1, and 0.5 JD denominations. Coins come in denominations of 1 JD, 500 fils, 250 fils, 100 fils, 50 fils, 25 fils, 10 and 5 fils. I use www.xe.com/ucc for daily up-to-date conversion rates.

Here are the pics of the Jordanian Dinar note pics. However I do not have the pics of the coins. If anyone is able to take pics of the coins and email them to me, so I can add them to this slide would be greatly apperciatted.

wasapninjordan

Responses

  1. Wow the music took me by surprise! My speakers are on full-blast!
    I like your blog, it’s really interesting to hear about Jordan it’s somewhere I have always wanted to visit.

    • Sorry about the Music. I am trying to switch it off. It comes on with the Slide. Thanks for the lovely comment and please visit again. Jordan is a Fab place 🙂

  2. I like your Blog and all the things you have written about Jordan. Nice photos and information as well…i’ve been travelling a lot myself and i collected different denominations from the countries i visited, i’ve been to most parts of western Europe, then to KSA, Bharain, and UAE, their money are quite confusing though especially when it comes to converting;-) I’m hoping to visit Jordan one day, I like to see Petra, Dead Sea and the Baptism site coz I’m a christian. Great site and keep it up!!!

    • Thank you, Thank you and Thank you again Carolyn for your kind words. Always happy to hear from new readers. You are right about the money but you know what you quickly get used to it. I recommend visiting Jordan at least once. The place and its people are fab. I hope you have a wonderful time travelling.


Leave a Reply

Categories

